This website was designed with you in mind. My goal is for this to  be an easy to use and informative site.  Please contact me with any suggestions or ideas you have.  Watch this space for future messages, information and updates.

  • Delaware
  • Treasa Earp, Treasurer
  • Location of Treasurer's Office:
  • P.O. Box 1080 / 327 5th St. Jay, Oklahoma 74346
  • Phone: 918-253-4533
  • Fax: 918-253-3620
  • E-Mail:
  • Office Hours: Monday thru Friday, 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

WELCOME TO THE Delaware county treasurer WEBSITE!

Profile Image




O.S. 68 1997 § 2913-2916

Tax statements are mailed in November or early December. If you do not receive your statements by mid-December, please contact our office immediately.  Please verify that you have received all of your statements and that everything is correct.  However failure to receive a tax statement does not exempt any person who is subject to taxation from paying taxes.  O.S.68 1997 ss 2915.

The County Assessor determines property values.  If you have any questions concerning your assessment, please contact the County Assessor’s Office.

Taxes must be paid in full or half by December 31.    If you choose to pay half, you must pay the first half by December 31,  and the second half if due by March 31.  Statements that are $25 or less must be paid in full.   If your taxes are not paid by December 31, penalty accrues at 1-1/2 percent per month until taxes are paid.  Penalty on second half starts  in April and accrues at 1-1/2 percent per month until taxes are paid in full. However, we offer a 15 day grace period. Penalty and interest will start on January 16th. If you do not pay at least half by January 15th, the full amount becomes due with interest. The penalty will then change on the first of every month thereafter.

If you enclose a self-addressed, stamped envelope, your receipts will be mailed back to you.  You may also print your receipt online by locating your tax item(s)  and clicking on your name.  Please allow 5-7 days for payments to be reflected online.  If you need assistance with our website, please contact the County Treasurer's Office or the webmaster.


If your mortgage company is responsible for paying your taxes through an escrow account, the statement will be sent directly to the mortgage company.  You will not receive a statement.   If you receive a tax statement that should be paid by your mortgage company please forward it to them immediately. Most mortgage payments are not received in our office until the end of December and may not be credited until the first part of January.    To verify that your taxes have been paid, locate your tax item(s) online and click on the tax amount.  To print a receipt, click on your name.


68 O.S. 3125-3131

The County Treasurer must hold a tax resale to sell any real estate for which the county has a held a tax lien for two full years (4 years delinquent taxes.  A tax resale involves the outright purchase of property on which taxes are delinquent.

The tax resale is held each year on the second Monday of June in the County Treasurer’s office between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m.  This property is auctioned off to the highest bidder.  Bid begins with the amount of all delinquent taxes, penalties, fees and costs.

 In the event no purchase is made, the remainder property is deeded to the County.



68 O.S. 1995, § 3135

The County Treasurer may sell property deeded to the county after a Tax Resale upon receiving a bid on that property.  The sale is subject to approval by the Board of County Commissioners, which has the power to reject any and all bids. 

Any bidder must place a deposit with the County Treasurer’s office to cover the cost of advertising the sale.

At the sale, the property is auctioned to the highest bidder for cash or certified funds.  Before closing the sale, the successful bidder must pay any additional costs of advertising and County Clerk's recording fees not covered by the deposit.  (If these costs are less than the deposit, the difference will be refunded to the bidder.)



NOTE:  New legislation has been  passed amending 68 O.S. Section 3105. The amendment eliminated the October Certificate Lien Sale (Certificate Sale).   All liens for delinquent properties will be held by the county.  Properties which remain delinquent and unpaid for 3 years or more will now be governed by resale statutes.   See June Resale for details.   Tax certificates issued prior to this legislation will remain active and are subject to the law that was in effect at the time the certificate was purchased.



68 O.S. §1901

A real estate mortgage tax is charged on every type of conveyance (document of property transfer) issued for the purpose of collecting money as a lien against real estate.  This tax is to be paid by the Mortgagee, Mortgagor, or any other interested party (68 O.S. 2001-1904).  Lenders must ensure that Mortgage Information Form (No. 443) is presented with each mortgage instrument filed.   The amount of the tax depends on the terms of the mortgage.  The mortgage tax is rounded up to the next $100.00 when paying the maximum amount (10¢).  Notarized affidavits must accompany all modifications.


Rate of tax on each $100 and each remaining fraction thereof:

5 Years or more 10¢
4 Years and less than 5 years 08¢
3 Years and less than 4 years 06¢
2 Years and less than 3 years 04¢
Less than 2 years 02¢
Mortgage for less than $100 10¢
Certification fee per mortgage $5.00
Certified Mailing Fee $5.00



Insufficient check charge $35.00
Personal tax warrants $10.00
Individual redemption fee $  5.00
Tax Deed Fees - Resale or Certificate $10.00
Special Assessment Fees $5.00
Assignment Fee for Tax Lien Certificates $15.00




October 1

County Assessor certifies the tax amounts to be collected.

November 1

Taxes first become due and payable.


Current tax statements are mailed.

December 31

Last day to pay full amount or one half payment of taxes before becoming delinquent.

December 31

Due date for taxes paid by mortgage companies. Mortgage companies must pay the full amount due.

March 31

Last day to pay second half payment of taxes before becoming delinquent.


Delinquent personal tax statements are mailed.


Delinquent personal taxes are published in the newspaper.

May & June

Publication for the Resale to be held the 2nd Monday in June.

Second Monday in June

Tax Resale


Delinquent real estate tax statements are mailed.


The Notice of Intents to Issue Tax Warrants statements on delinquent personal taxes are mailed.


Certified mail notice and publication of current delinquent real estate taxes

September 30

All add/deletes for mortgage group codes are due in by the mortgage/group companies.


The Treasurer's office makes every effort to ensure the correctness of this web site. Any error contained herein does not constitute a  waiver of tax amounts by or for the Delaware County Treasurer's office or the Taxpayer.